Democracy in Action


Peruvian Republic

Peru is a democratic republic. Its government is structured following the principle of the separation of the three autonomous and independent powers: the Executive, whose maximum representative is the President of the Republic; the Legislative Power or National Congress (unicameral); and the Judicial Power.

The President of the Republic and the 130 members of the government of Peru’s Congress are elected every five years by a universal, secret and direct vote.

The current constitutional President of the Republic is Ollanta Humala Tasso, elected for the 2011-2016 period.


Peru is located on the western side of South America. Its territory borders Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Bolivia and Chile. The country has permanent sovereignty over 1’285,215 km2 (110,122 sq. miles) of land and 200 marine miles of the Pacific Ocean, as well as 60 million hectares (231,661 sq. miles) in the Antarctic.



Copyright© 2023 Travel Tips Peru, All rights reserved
Designed by: / Web Design, Seo, E-commerce